आर्थिक कार्य विभाग DEPARTMENT OF Economic Affairs


You are here

Home >> IDEAS


Title Details Published Date
Terms and Conditions of regulating the IDEA Scheme
(O.M. No. 21/3/2015-IDEAS )
Download(9 MB) 07th December, 2015

Major Functions

  • Government of India Supported Lines of Credit (LOCs) to countries of Asia (Excluding Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan) Africa, CIS region and Latin American region which are being extended under the Indian Development and Economic Assistance Scheme (IDEAS).
  • Erstwhile Government of India Lines of Credit (Government to Government) to countries of Asia, Africa, CIS and Latin American region.
  • Examine/issues related to waiver of Government of India’s dues pertaining to previous GOI (Government to Government) Lines of Credit owed by Heavily Indebted Poor Countries (HIPCs).

Sectoral Charge: External Affairs

External Territorial Charge: Mongolia, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam, CIS countries and Africa (except South Africa).

Policy on Lines of Credit:
For about four decades, Department of Economic Affairs on behalf of Government of India had been extending Lines of Credit (LOCs) to friendly developing foreign countries. These LOCs were essentially ‘Government to Government’ (G to G) credit lines as the credit agreements were signed between GOI and the Government of the recipient country.

Till 2003-04, the LOCs were from Government to Government. Accordingly the full amount covered by the LOCs, used to be provided in the Budget. Since 2003-04, this system has been substituted by extending GOI supported Lines of Credit through Exim Bank of India.

Classification of countries:
Under the existing Guidelines for extending LOCs, countries have been classified into the three broad categories indicated in the following Table. The classification of HIPC Countries, Low Income Countries and Middle Income Countries is as per the world Bank Classification of economics (July, 2009) and the classification of LDC Countries is as per the classification done by the UN Office of the high representative for the least developed countries, landlocked developing countries and small island developing states.

Class of Country Name of Countries
HIPC Highly Indebted Poor Countries declared under the Paris Club Initiative Afghanistan, Benin, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d’lvorie, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nicargua, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia
Low Income countries & LDC countries Angola, Cambodia, Djibouti, Kenya, Kiribati, Dem. Rep. Korea, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Maldives, Myanmar, Nigeria, Pakistan, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Republic of Yemen and Zimbabwe.
Middle Income Countries Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belize, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Arab Re. Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Indonesia, Islamic Rep. Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Libya, Macedonia (FYR), Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mayotte, Micronesia (Fed. Sts), Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Serbia, Seychelles, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts & Nevia, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela (R.B.), West Bank & Gaza.

Special Initiatives: Support to NEPAD, TEAM-9 and the ASEAN.

Contact Persons:

Designation Telephone
Section Officer(IDEAS) 91-11-23095205
Footer Menu